On to the next chapter…

Here’s the TL;DR (too long; didn’t read) version:

— I came in to The Post to help build something. We built it, and now it’s time to move on.

— The most difficult part of this very personal decision has been the incredible team we’ve assembled.

— Up next: 1) developing a video strategy with McClatchy newsrooms across the country, and 2) expanding Spark Camp, which is growing much larger than the side project it once was.

* * *

There’s something that never gets old when those elevator doors swing open and you enter the newsroom. The Post is a magical, crazy, inspiring place.  It’s been a professional dream come true to work here, particularly as someone who grew up in the DC area.  It’s hard to explain the gravitational pull of 15th Street. If you don’t get it, you don’t get it.

It’s been a privilege and an honor to be entrusted to run this newsroom’s video team.  I think back to where we were in 2011, as a newsroom and as a video department. It seems like it was a different world.

Since then we’ve worked hard to realign the department.  This team has worked incredibly hard and produced stellar work.  Our industry has responded: We’ve brought home dozens of awards, including the two last year that make me the most proud – The Edward R. Murrow Award for Overall Excellence for a national online news organization and the regional Emmy Award for Station Excellence – because they recognize our team’s ability to work collectively with shared purpose.

It’s been difficult work, at times, and in our experimentation we’ve occasionally stumbled – but that’s good and healthy and all part of the process.  I’ve loved every minute, even the challenging ones.

Which brings me to the most difficult part of the decision to leave: the collection of amazing journalists, colleagues and friends here. By no means am I leaving because I’ve lost faith in this team; in fact, I’m only because I have great faith in this team that I’m able to let go. I know that they’re on the right path, and I know that they have a truly remarkable management team at their back.

And so I’ve asked myself over and over again the question you’re likely asking: Why would you leave?

These new professional and personal opportunities are too great to ignore.  I’ve spent months talking with some of the great people at McClatchy.  They are leaders in their communities and I’m excited to work alongside them to help develop a video strategy that works editorially, technologically and financially.

As for Spark Camp, it’s been gratifying to hear just how much of an impact it has had in journalism, media and technology circles.  Still, the start-up that friends and I launched in 2011 is like any other three-year-old:  It needs our attention.  Our growth plans are ambitious and require even more effort now.

***

The leadership at The Post has been incredibly gracious as I’ve reached this decision, even if it’s not their preferred choice.  It has been an amazing, once-in-a-lifetime ride for me, and I’m forever grateful.  And I must say, I’m energized – not just for myself, but for the very bright future ahead for this newsroom.

I’m looking forward to the next chapter.

UPDATE: Here’s the full announcement.

4 thoughts on “On to the next chapter…

  1. Hey congratulations, friend! I know it’s probably tough to leave the Post but change is great for growing and challenging yourself. I hope this means you have more time for lunch and Tiny Desks.

Leave a Reply

